Image

I have a confession. I am addicted to avocados. I spent most of my life disliking the things – now I eat a least three a week. I hear they are fattening, but it is good fat so that is fine by me.

This is my very simple guacamole recipe. I know some people like to add red onion, garlic or sour cream and by all means feel free to do that, however I use guacamole to cut through other strong flavours so I like to keep it fresh, light and zingy.

Enjoy this with my Smokey Bean Chilli recipe, quesadillas, in sandwiches or any other delicious way you can think of

1 Portion – serves 4 as a side dip

Do not freeze.

Keeps in the fridge for about 72 hours

Ingredients

1 x Ripe Avocado – (this will be slightly soft if pressed)

1 x Lime – Zest and juice

1 x Tomato (or 4-5 cherry tomatoes)

Salt and pepper to taste

Image

Method

  • Slice the avocado in half
  • Remove the stone
  • Get a spoon and scoop out the avocado onto a chopping board
  • Dice into little 1cm cubes
  • Transfer avocado to a bowl
  • Wash and dice the tomatoes into even smaller cubes. If you are using a whole tomato as opposed to cherry tomatoes, remove the jelly from the middle before dicing.
  • Put the tomatoes in the bowl with the avocado
  • Using a fine grater, grate the zest of the lime into the bowl with the avocado and tomato
  • Cut the lime in half, take a fork and squeeze the juice into the bowl with the other ingredients. (If the lime feels hard, put it in the microwave for 10 seconds and it will be easier to squeeze)
  • Take a fork and mush all the ingredients in the bowl with a fork until you get a texture similar to the photo.
  • Season to taste
